Home Page



At Phoenix Infant and Nursery School we ensure that each child is offered a curriculum that promotes high standards of achievement, regardless of ability, ethnic origin or gender.

We aim to provide a curriculum which:-

·         follows the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) guidance and the Key Stage One National Curriculum and locally agreed RE syllabus.

·         is broad and balanced, and develops children’s knowledge, skills and understanding.

·        has planned, wide-ranging, educational experience at a level appropriate to the individual child.

·         allows the children to be taught as a whole class, in groups and one-to-one, as appropriate.

·         addresses the children’s spiritual, moral, social and cultural development, preparing them for life as effective citizens.

·         will include relevant visits and visitors to school to enrich the curriculum.

Each class is taught through topics which ensure full coverage of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum in Foundation or the National Curriculum in Years 1 and 2. Information regarding the curriculum is given to parents through termly curriculum newsletters. We have also recently introduced 'Brilliant Beginnings' in Key Stage One enabling children to do some research at home prior to the topic being taught. 


 Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)


The early years staff work very closely to ensure all pupils have an equal opportunity to access the curriculum both inside and out.  Our teachers and Teaching Assistants provide a secure base for each child and are able to support and respond to each individual’s needs and monitor their progress.

The Foundation children follow the EYFS Framework and Guidance. The three Prime areas of learning are: Personal, Social and Emotional Development; Communication and Language; and Physical Development. There are four Specific Areas of Learning: Literacy; Mathematics; Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design.

The curriculum is practical, engaging, active and multi-sensory and based on the childrens' interests.  The staff plan together and there is a good balance of directed activities with an adult and activities initiated by the children.  Information is regularly published on the class pages of the website to inform parents of the learning taking place and to celebrate previous learning.


Key Stage One (Year 1 and Year 2)


In Key Stage One pupils follow the National Curriculum which is broken into subjects; English, Maths, Science, Computing, PE, History, Geography, Art, Design Technology and Music.  RE is planned using the Nottinghamshire Agreed Syllabus and Personal, Social, Health Education is taught in order to support children’s social and emotional needs. 


These subjects are often taught through topics.  Throughout Key Stage One teachers are continually assessing each child's progress to ensure that they are able to make the best possible progress and also to quickly identify any problems or difficulties which may create a barrier to a child's learning.  There are also more formal assessments carried out in both Year 1 and Year 2. In Year 1 all children nationally are assessed in Phonics to determine whether they are meeting the expected age related standard.  In Year 2 the children are assessed at the end of the year using both "tests" and teacher assessments to determine the level each child is attaining. At the end of the year in July every child in the school receives a written report.


What does your child learn at school each day? Find information about our curriculum subjects here.


At Phoenix Infant and Nursery School, early reading is taught using synthetic phonics with the school following the government published programme 'Letters and Sounds' to teach phonics. Pupils are systematically taught the phonemes (sounds), how to blend the sounds all through the word for reading, and how to segment the sounds in order to write words. Children are taught to use their phonic skills and knowledge as their first approach to reading, but are also taught how to read high frequency words which do not completely follow the phonic rules.

Phonics is taught from Nursery and is divided into six phases, with each phase building on the skills and knowledge of previous learning.

Children have time to practise and rapidly expand their ability to read and spell words. They are also taught to read and spell ‘tricky words’, which are words with spellings that are unusual.

Phase One ( Nursery)

The aim of this Phase is to foster children’s speaking and listening skills as preparation for learning to read with phonics. Parents can play a vital role in helping their children develop these skills, by encouraging their children to listen carefully and talk extensively about what they hear, see and do.

Phases Two to Four ( Foundation Stage)

Phase Two is when systematic, high quality phonic work begins. During Phases Two to Four, children learn:


  • How to represent each of the forty-two sounds by a letter or sequence of letters
  • ( Click on the link above to hear these sounds)
  • How to blend sounds together for reading and how to segment (split) words for spelling
  • The letter names
  • How to read and spell some high frequency ‘tricky’ words containing sounds not yet learned (for example ‘they’, ‘my’, ‘her’ and ‘you’)

The Letters and Sounds Programme we use suggests an order for teaching the letters. We recognise, however, that children’s personal experience of letters varies enormously. Most importantly, we ensure that phonics is taught and practised at a pace that is suitable for individual and groups of children.

Phase Five ( Year One)

Children continue to revise the previous phases.

Children learn new ways of representing the sounds and practise blending for reading and segmenting for spelling.

Phase Six (Year Two)

During this phase, children become fluent readers and increasingly accurate spellers.

Reading Schemes

At Phoenix Infant and Nursery School, all our reading books are colour banded. Children are given a colour band to choose their home reading book from which will help to ensure that the books they select are at the appropriate reading level for them whilst also ensuring they are appropriately challenged. 

Every colour band includes books from a range of reading schemes so that children will experience a range of text types. All books within each book band can be decoded using phonics skills and knowledge.